Mobile Menu Trigger



Summit Public Schools

Off Canvas Navigation Container

Close Trigger (container)

National Merit Scholars

National Merit Scholars

At the BOE Regular Meeting on January 17th, the district recognized the 27 Summit High School seniors who received the distinction of being named as scholar students by the National Merit Scholarship Program. They were congratulated for their accomplishments by a large audience of family members and peers, as well as the following: members of the Board of Education, Superintendent June Chang, Assistant Principal Lorena Dolan, Assistant Principal Nicholas Steffner, and many district administrators and staff.

Photo of many National Merit Scholar SHS students and their honored teachers prior to the January BOE Meeting.

Additionally, these students paid tribute to a district staff member who had inspired/influenced them during their Summit educational experience. The following presented their honored guests with a special book and personal inscription:

William Alaric-Nilsen presented Gary Burns with

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Daniella Alonso presented Bill O'Regan with

What Teachers Make

Abigail Brandt presented Irina Itriyeva with

I'd Rather Be Reading

Nick Clements presented John Kratch with

Presidents of War

Cooper Daley presented Elizabeth Berberich with

Brick History: A History of the World in Lego

Jane DiSibio presented Randy Wallock with


Deacon Donaldson presented Adam Leaman with

How Not To Be Wrong: The Power of Mathematical Thinking

Nicholas Hausman presented Neal Sharma with

The Pearl

Emily Kane presented Jeremy Morman with

The Pope of Physics: Enrico Fermi and the Birth of the Atomic Age

Andrew Kelser presented Dan Cummings with


Yulia Kuzniar presented Asha Von Liebtag with


Gabby Lau presented Scott Petrillo with


Kelsey Lee presented Steve Andrews with

Excess of Being

Sabrina Li presented Michael Magdalenski with

The Overstory

Sophie Li presented Andrea Laquerre with

Founding Myths: Stories that Hide Our Patriotic Past

Liz Liss presented Isaac Welsh with

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind

William Lusty presented Eric Fontes with

Algorithms to Live By: The Computer Science of Human Decisions

Samuel Malnati presented Peter Koppenaal with

The Joy of Pi

Alexander McDonald presented Corey Walsh with

My Early Life

Katie Monaghan presented Tom O'Dowd with


Chloe Proshuto presented Monika Bartlett with

I Wish I Knew That

Tessa Pulgar presented Christine Stelmach with

The Poisoner's Handbook: Murder and the Birth of Forensic Medicine

in Jazz Age New York

Will Stern presented David Howarth with

How to Behave Badly In Elizabethan England

Filip Vizitiu presented Alex Bocchino with

Flowers for Algernon

Not present:

Patrick Murray, who will honor teacher Stephen Rapp with Year of Wonder

Henry Walsh, who will honor teacher Kyle Dattola with Don't Put Me In, Coach

Marcos Canavosio

Photo credit: TAPintoSummit