Mobile Menu Trigger



Summit Public Schools

Off Canvas Navigation Container

Close Trigger (container)

News Details

2018 National Merit Scholarship Program Recognition

Principal Stacy Grimaldi announced that 39 Summit High School students have been recognized by the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program®. Five students have been named Semifinalists, 32 have been named Commended Students, and four have been selected for the National Hispanic Recognition Program (NHRP). A Letter of Commendation from Summit High School and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented by Principal Grimaldi to these scholastically-talented seniors.

Over 1.6 million students took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®) in October 2016 and entered the nationwide National Merit Scholarship Program. In April 2017, NMSC identified the 50,000 highest scorers. About 16,000 of those high performers were designated as Semifinalists on a state representational basis. Semifinalists have the opportunity to continue in the Merit Scholarship® competition and advance to Finalist standing in February 2018 by meeting a number of additional requirements. About 90% of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing.

The other 34,000 high performers are named as Commended Students based on a national Selection Index score of 211, applicable to all program participants without regard to state-by-state distribution. Participants who scored at or above 211, but below their state Semifinalist Selection Index score, are Commended Students.

Congratulations to the following Summit High School students for their achievements:

Five Semifinalist students in a group photo outside their high school.

Semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program:

James Cho

Alyssa Gao

Rachel Kantor

Emily Pommier

Matthew Supran

All 39 Commended Students in a group photo outside.

Commended Students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program:

Megan Abate

John Alvarez

Sydney Benevento

Katherine Buchan

Emma Cohron

Molly Driscoll

Adam Dwyer

Liam Galligan

Christina Gangi

Claire Goudreau

Michael Greenstein

Christina Guo

Victoria Harvey

Miller Hickman

Mae Hoad

Jessica Hughes

Juliet Huneke

Dylan Ingerman

Hamail Iqbal

Grace Keegan

Kelsey Kennedy

Alisha Kewalramani

Vincent Kinget

Emily Kostolansky

Maxim Kulkarni

Timothy Ritter

Allison Schwartz

Rachel Schwartz

Joseph Shepard

Theo Stephen

John Stewart

Anna Turk

National Hispanic Recognition Program:

John Alvarez

Emma Cohron

Pedro Guicardi

Steve Molina